Dorm Room Decorating

Whoever lives here has great taste

Use bright colors to cheer up a gloomy room

My workspace

Decorating a dorm room is tricky. You can’t paint the walls, everyone has the same bland furniture, lack of space, and a small budget are interior design nightmares. Everyday I dream of the time when I can get my own apartment and decorate to my heart’s delight. Unfortunately, that may be a while and so in the mean time I’m making due by getting a bit creative. Having a beautiful dorm room is doable, and having a beautiful dorm room that cost you next to nothing to decorate is even more attainable. Here are a few ideas from my own humble abode to snazz up your space:

Treasure Hunt in your own Home! Before you go out and grab some knickknacks or a trendy comforter, search your basement, linen closet and attic for decorations. While I was snooping I found an amazing antique comforter that was perfect for my color scheme right in my own linen closet. I also brought an old desk lamp that I found in the basement, and repurposed an old flower vase as a pencil holder.

Found it in my closet!

I rescued this baby from my basement. Also, a big thanks to my friend Joanna for the gorgeous flowers!

Swapped out the flowers for pens

 

Incorporate throw pillows! Pillows are a great way to add some color to your room. Look for cheap throw pillows at places like Homegoods, or if you have a sewing machine like me, you can make your own!

DIY pillows

Follow design blogs! I was inspired by a blog post about clothespins (I wish I remembered the blog’s name because I would obviously give them credit for such a genius idea) when I came up with this postcard and quote tags idea. Sites like Apartment Therapy, Made By Girl, A Punch of Color, and Delight by Design are great sources for designspiration.

Inspired by a blog post

Found this old stamp at a book store for 25 cents

Stationary stores have amazing post cards

Hit flea markets, garage sales and street vendors! Many of my knickknacks were found while rifling through a box filled with junk. But like they say one man’s junk is another girl’s desk accessory.

TR is actually an old Avon cologne bottle. His head is the cap! haha

I found this box at an antique store in Lancaster, PA. Because the wood is cracked I only paid $2

Now I use it as a jewelry box!

Have any other decorating ideas? How did you decorate your dorm room? Please share I’d love to hear!

4 comments on “Dorm Room Decorating

  1. i really love the clothespin line…i’ve always wanted to do that!

  2. annie Worden says:

    This is awesome. The pictures you add really show what your talking about in a positive way. Another idea to consider is tapestries. Its a great way to cover up white walls with some color and design!

Leave a Reply

