Mid-Term Munchies

My apologies for not posting for a week (or two). I have been in the throes of mid-terms and unfortunately the blog took a backseat when it came to studying. But now I’m back and raring to write a bunch of posts I wanted to do this past week, but didn’t have time for.

The Most Interesting Man in the World studies through osmosis...unfortunately, I am not The Most Interesting Man in the World

So let me tell you about my week. About 80% of my time was spent at Club Lib and the rest of it was spent sleeping or eating everything frozen, fried or delivered. Once mid-terms and finals hit my eating habits take a nasty turn for the worse and I become Countess of Carbtown. This is a problem not only because A. it’s unhealthy, but B. My body is not a big fan of gluten. I know this may seem shocking as all of my food posts have been gluten heaven, but hey a girl has to indulge sometimes. My diet is usually as gluten-free as a college student’s diet can be  as I find that I have much more energy when I don’t eat wheat and processed foods.

Ronald McDonald and I are BFFLS during mid-term week

I don’t know about you, but after a few days of pizza, low mein and $3 subs (suck it Subway), my body screams for fresh fruits and vegetables. So that’s why the other night I packed up my things, bid adieu to my designated study desk and said hello to my neglected kitchen. I had recently gone to the Arthur Avenue Market and picked up some fresh peppers, onions, a carrot and kale. My pantry was in rough shape consisting of tuna fish cans, olive oil, cocoa powder (for smoothies) and quinoa. What is a girl to do? Make quinoa-stuffed peppers!

Here is what you’ll need:

-one large bell pepper, de-seeded and decap(itat)ed

-about 1/4-1/3 cup of quinoa, cooked

-Chopped vegetables (I used kale, carrots and onions but you can use anything left in your fridge)

-Spices for seasoning (I used salt, pepper, chicken buillon, and paprika)

-shredded parmesan or cheddar cheese (optional)

Fresh ingredients > fast food

Directions:

-Preheat over to 375 degrees

-Cut off top of bell pepper, de-seed

-Cook quinoa as directed on packaging

-Dice vegetables and saute in oil or butter until tender

-Combine quinoa with veggies

-Stuff quinoa mixture into bell pepper

-Place pepper standing up on well-oiled baking sheet and leave in over for about twenty minutes or until the skin starts to blister

-Top with shredded cheese

ENJOY!

Not only is this meal healthier, but it is much less expensive than ordering out! My total for this meal? Less than $2.00!

3 comments on “Mid-Term Munchies

  1. Can’t see the picture but sounds delish!

  2. Nick says:

    The bottom two pics aren’t working for me either, but the rest look fine. Another great post.

Leave a Reply

