Gelato and Beer: So wrong, yet oh so right

Beer-infused gelato? I'm not complaining.

What better way to ring in every Irishman’s favorite holiday than a post about booze. Or in this case, boozy gelato. In the spirit of St. Patty’s Day, I’ve decided to start a bit early this year, and have refused to consume anything that does not contain alcohol. Just kidding. I simply went out for ice cream with my parents and stumbled upon the holy grail of ice cream flavors: Caramel Stout. Now, I know what you are thinking. In no way shape or form does the thought of beer-flavored gelato sound even remotely appetizing. It’s not. But do you know what is delicious? Guinness-infused caramel gelato from Scooped! in West Chester, PA. It is this great organic homemade gelato place on High Street. They have really unique flavors like my new favorite Stout Caramel (made with Guinness brewed from Iron Hill Brewery right down the block!), Bailey’s (are you sensing a theme here?) and coconut macaroon. The gelato itself was as creamy as every gelato should be. The caramel flavor was sweet yet not over-the-top as some caramel-flavored foods can be, and the Guinness ┬ácomplimented the caramel beautifully. Alright that’s enough with my pathetic attempt at a food review. Let’s just cut to the chase and get to the pictures already!

I had the Caramel Stout while my mom went with the equally delicious Chocolate with Salted Caramel. My dad couldn't decide so he got both!

Scooped! itself is an adorable ice cream parlor complete with an old-fashioned ice cream counter, glass candy jars and adorable seating. They were voted Best of the Main Line for 2010 AND 2011! And even better? For three smalls (small being a relative term) our bill came to only $8.25 or $2.75 per person!

These are only half of the homemade flavors. I love how they display the flavor names!

You had me at Caramel-Stout

A West Chester MUST if you are in town!

What is the craziest gelato/ice cream flavor you’ve ever tried? Let’s hear it!

3 comments on “Gelato and Beer: So wrong, yet oh so right

  1. hanny35 says:

    Oh my goodness! Guinness infused gelato?! Good thing I don’t live in PA, because I would probably move into that ice cream parlor. Do you know if they have other locations around the U.S?

    • Hahaha I’m thinking about it! And unfortunately Scooped! only has two locations in Chester County PA because the owner sources his cream from local organic farms around the area. I wish Scooped! was in every US city!

      • hanny35 says:

        oh wow that’s really awesome! I always try to support local business/sources. Well, I guess I’ll just have to live vicariously through you and your visits to Scooped!

Leave a Reply

