To Spotify or Not to Spotify? That is the question.

A final exam favorite of mine

During finals one of the major things that keeps me centered and sane is music. I like to listen to classical and bluegrass music when writing paper. However, finding great bluegrass music is time consuming and I don’t like spending too much time searching for songs and making playlists. I recently downloaded the free version of Spotify, the music streaming software that connects your Facebook friends and lets you share your music tastes with your Facebook friends (I usually turn this feature off when I’m having a Belieber or ABBA moment). Anyway, I’ve fallen head over heels in love with Spotify. The music selection is great, I love their country and classical stations and I’ve found some great artists through friends’ playlists.

I ♥ Spotify

So here is my dilemma. Spotify offers a monthly fee-based, no-ad, mobile streaming feature that lets you access songs offline, which would be AMAZING for my 30 minute subway ride to work. It is $9.99/month, and has received rave reviews. Right now I just buy my songs off of itunes which runs me between $0.99-$1.29 per song. I’ve been super paranoid ever since the whole Napster and Kazaa debacles so I stay away from the illegal dark underbelly of music downloading.

Good reason, but I'd rather not up my chances of incarceration or a lawsuit

Some months I go on an itunes shopping spree and rack up a $30 bill. Other months I don’t even open itunes. And sometimes I’m gifted itunes cards which last me a while and I love Genius, but sometimes I regret my purchases and it’s not like you can return an MP3 files. This Spotify service is very appealing but when it’s all said and done, it would cost me about $120/year :/ I have a part-time job next semester and I babysit on occasion so $9.99/month would be more than doable, but I’m still on the fence. So instead of doling out advice, I’m asking you guys for some. Oh how the tables have turned haha! Does anyone use Spotify premium or know anyone that does? What would you do? Or do you have another LEGAL music streaming service you prefer? Please help!

3 comments on “To Spotify or Not to Spotify? That is the question.

  1. Nick says:

    I’ve been debating the same thing. I still stick mostly with free Pandora.

  2. I love Pandora too, but they don’t have an offline version right? That is the main reason Spotify unlimited is so appealing.

  3. Nick says:

    Android offers a Pandora app for their smart phone. But I’ve been hearing good things about Spotify too.

Leave a Reply

